Beijer Electronics (formerly QSI Corporation)

Manufacturer of Mobile Data and Human Machine Interface Terminals.
It is currently Mon Nov 20, 2017 2:22 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:36 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2011 9:20 am
Posts: 20
I am getting requests from customers that want to have both a local and remote HMI using the same Modbus/TCP network. Is there a way to use the local HMI screen to send Modbus information to a second screen using MBSlaveV2, or additional MBComV2 objects?

Dan


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 18, 2013 11:14 pm 
Offline
QSI Support
QSI Support
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 12:25 pm
Posts: 881
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Normally in the scenario you describe, I would suggest having the remote HMI talk to the directly modbus PLC using Modbus TCP and forgo using the local HMI as a middle device.

It is possible to have one HMI using both Modbus Master and Modbus slave protocols, however setting up the Modbus slave communication is a fair amount of work.

_________________
Jeremy
http://www.beijerinc.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 19, 2013 1:06 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2011 9:20 am
Posts: 20
Usually we do have only a remote HMI talking to a PLC however, lately we have been getting requests to have two HMIs communicating with the PLC. They would like to have the Modbus information available in two locations.

I dont mind doing some work to get the Modbus slave communications if it will do the trick. What is the best way for me to begin trying this out?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 26, 2013 1:16 pm 
Offline
QSI Support
QSI Support
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 12:25 pm
Posts: 881
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
My suggestion would be to forgo the Modbus slave entirely. Instead, have both the local and the remote HMI talk Modbus TCP directly to the PLC. The only reason you should need to get Modbus slave involved on the local HMI would be if you want the remote HMI to have additional information about the local HMI in addition to the PLC.

This will be dramatically easier to set up and ensure that the remote HMI has up-to-date information about the PLC, instead of possibly out-of-date information from the local HMI.

_________________
Jeremy
http://www.beijerinc.com


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group