Beijer Electronics (formerly QSI Corporation)

Manufacturer of Mobile Data and Human Machine Interface Terminals.
It is currently Tue Nov 21, 2017 8:36 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 42 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 29, 2007 8:29 am 
Offline
QSI Support
QSI Support
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 12:25 pm
Posts: 881
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Have you tried pressing Ctrl+F, then checking the "Entire Workspace" option?

_________________
Jeremy
http://www.beijerinc.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 29, 2007 8:53 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 12:20 pm
Posts: 60
I tried it a while back and for some reason it didn't find a reference I was looking for so I didn't use it again. That was so long ago I'm not sure what the circumstances. I tried using it now and it seems to work fine. Don't know why???? Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Comment Selection
PostPosted: Tue May 08, 2007 6:51 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2006 8:50 am
Posts: 39
Location: Duncan, OK
A feature to comment out the currently selected text would be nice.



Also I would like the ability to set the cursor then move to another location and shift click. The text from the original cursor position to the shift click location would be selected.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 08, 2007 6:56 am 
Offline
QSI Support
QSI Support
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 12:25 pm
Posts: 881
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Steve:



Try selecting text and pressing Ctrl+Shift+S. This will mark a block of code as "sample code" for the auto documentation, which will in effect treat it as a comment. It is not the perfect solution but it is what I use for a quick and dirty comment/decomment mechanisim.



It does have the side effect of inserting that code into the object documentation for that workspace (difficult to predict where it would be inserted though).

_________________
Jeremy
http://www.beijerinc.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jun 13, 2008 2:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2008 2:37 pm
Posts: 14
Maybe this option already exists and I just missed it, but I would like the option to automatically save the workspace when entering simulation mode. I have version 2.5 and firmware version 2.5 Qlarity crashes on me about once a day when leaving simulation mode. I have been able to save workspace before choosing to not send an error report. Also I have had qlarity freeze when I accidentally entered simulation mode and then changed right back to layout mode in this case I couldn't save the workspace and lost unsaved code. :( I don't want to worry about if I saved my code every time I run a simulation.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jun 13, 2008 2:35 pm 
Offline
QSI Support
QSI Support
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 12:25 pm
Posts: 881
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Edit: Ignore my last post, I totally answered the wrong topic

With regard to Auto Saving, it is high on my list of actions to implement.

Currently you can usually recover and save in many cases. If for some reason the Qlarity Foundry GUI suffers a catastrophic error, it should inform you of that and pop up a File Save As dialog box for you to save your code.

If the firmware suffers a crash error, you will get the standard "This application has experienced an exception and must be terminated..." In this case, if you don't click the [OK] button, Qlarity Foundry will remain responsive and you can go back to Code View and save. (Simulation View will probably not work until you restart Qlarity Foundry).

However, if you are able to repeatedly crash the Qlarity Foundry, especially with a particular workspace, we would greatly appreciate any assistance you can give us to duplicate the problem here. We do take Qlarity Foundry crashing very seriously and want to track down any situations where it does and correct it. Please give our tech support a call if you can duplicate this.

_________________
Jeremy
http://www.beijerinc.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 16, 2008 9:11 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2008 6:20 am
Posts: 3
Well, the one thing I'm comming across is that it seems rather hard to create new data types. So, I suppose what I would like to see added is support for structures or the creation of a new data type (like a C++ class) so that I can create arrays of that data type and dump data into the array rather than having to try to manage everything in some other, more cumbersome manner.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 16, 2008 9:32 am 
Offline
QSI Support
QSI Support

Joined: Tue May 20, 2008 9:04 am
Posts: 56
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
While you can do this to an extent by instantiating several global objects and then assigning them to an objref array like so:

Code:
' In the code for a custom template.

dim MyObjArray[5] as objref MyTemplate
...
func StartUp()
    ' Assign global objects of type MyTemplate to the reference array.
    MyObjArray[0] = myGlobalObject1
    MyObjArray[1] = myGlobalObject2
    ... etc


I agree with you that it would be nice to be able to create and assign template instances just as you would the built in data types. I know this has been talked about, but I'm not exactly sure of the priority. It's high on my wish list as well.

_________________
Rick Hansen

http://www.qsicorp.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 16, 2008 9:37 am 
Offline
QSI Support
QSI Support
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 12:25 pm
Posts: 881
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Rick is right -- you can use Templates much as you would a struct or class in C++. The key drawback for a template is that it cannot be dynamically instantiated either on the stack or the heap -- this means that all instances of templates must be created at compile time and can never be destroyed (there are, of course a lot of games you can play involving creating pools of objects for use, but then your code can get as complex as just using parallel arrays.

Dynamic objects are very high on our wish list here. I cannot say when we will add them though as they are also require some very deep modifications to our underlying system.

_________________
Jeremy
http://www.beijerinc.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 01, 2008 2:24 pm 
Offline
QSI Support
QSI Support
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 12:25 pm
Posts: 881
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
A new beta version is available with the backup on entering Sim View or Layout View feature:

viewtopic.php?f=6&t=3723

_________________
Jeremy
http://www.beijerinc.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 02, 2008 8:53 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 8:19 pm
Posts: 2
At first I wud very much like to say I like working on qlarity. But main problem i'm facing is with serial communication, so there are few things i think i would like to have in my inventory.

It would be very helpful to have a polling method or function on comport for checking if data is available in serial buffer and another to read the recieved data.
Massage or event raising and handling path is good but if you can introduce with it the polling or any direct reading method it will be worth and some property to select between two methods. That way received data (may be noise also) doesnot have to be read when application doesnot need it, and also application can check and read data whenever it need, not depending upon the raising of MSG_COMM_RECEIVE event.

Another thing i would like to know, the priority of MSG_COMM_RECEIVE. I mean if already some massages are there in massage queu then where MSG_COMM_RECEIVE will be added in the list.
And it will be very helpful if you can provide the priority of all the massages, atleast those which user will or can interact with or have to count on.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 03, 2008 6:52 am 
Offline
QSI Support
QSI Support
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 12:25 pm
Posts: 881
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Thank you Arka Saha.

I agree, some additional method to get serial data on demand rather than the event method would certainly make certain types of programming logic easier to implement.

As far as priorities go here is how it works:

All Qlarity code is executed in response to some message. Qlarity code is never executed except in response to a message.

All messages (except MSG_DRAW) are placed in a message queue and handled in strict FIFO order. MSG_DRAW is a special beast, which could have its own entire forum topic. However in short MSG_DRAW is placed in a secondary, custom queue and processed only when the primary message queue is empty.

The current message processing is never interrupted by other messages being placed in the queue.

_________________
Jeremy
http://www.beijerinc.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 03, 2008 8:24 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 8:19 pm
Posts: 2
Thanks Jeremy for the reply.

I have one more question about serial recieve. Suppose serial buffer size is defined as 32, and when within a MSG_COM_RECIEVE execution another packet of 32 byte data has been recieved. My question is, as already one MSG_COM_RECIEVE is running will it insert a new MSG_COM_RECIEVE in message queu at the very moment the data recieved (and serial buufer size is 32) or will it wait for the current execution to get over (comm resource is same).


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 06, 2008 7:10 am 
Offline
QSI Support
QSI Support
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 12:25 pm
Posts: 881
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
This is developing into its own topic, I am going to move the reply into its own thread

You can read my response here: viewtopic.php?f=6&t=3756

_________________
Jeremy
http://www.beijerinc.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 18, 2008 1:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2008 2:37 pm
Posts: 14
What does Qlarity offer in regards to automated testing? I would love to see an integrated test system that makes it easy to create and use tests at all levels like unit and integration.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 42 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group