Beijer Electronics (formerly QSI Corporation)

Manufacturer of Mobile Data and Human Machine Interface Terminals.
It is currently Sun Nov 19, 2017 6:46 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Connect G72 to PC
PostPosted: Wed Jun 15, 2011 12:18 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2011 12:14 am
Posts: 28
Well I have connected the terminal G-72 and I have proved the demo application but I want to download my own application from my PC.

I am watching the terminal and I just see a usb port but I dont sure. Have I to connect my terminal to PC through the usb port? What's the way to connect it to my computer ?

Also I could see that the AC Adaptor has a wire with two serial connector (a male and a female). I just connected the male to the primary of my terminal, but What I have to do with the other serial connector ? Is it free ?

To sum up, What I need and to connect the terminal to my pc and how ?
Thanks a lot.

Roberto


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Connect G72 to PC
PostPosted: Wed Jun 15, 2011 6:42 am 
Offline
QSI Support
QSI Support
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 12:25 pm
Posts: 881
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
You cannot use the USB on a G72 to connect to the PC. The G72 has a USB host part (the kind that can receive a USB flash drive), as does your PC. USB does not permit two host ports to communicate.

You can use either serial or ethernet to download software from your PC. With the cable you have, you can connect the female end to your PC and the male end to the G72 for communication. The procedure is described in detail of Chapter 8 of the Hardware Reference and Chapter 7 of the Qlarity Foundry User Manual.

_________________
Jeremy
http://www.beijerinc.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Connect G72 to PC
PostPosted: Wed Jun 15, 2011 7:20 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2011 12:14 am
Posts: 28
I've just connected the terminal G72 as you said me but when I tried to download my application to the terminal the qlarity software sais to me that "Verifying that the terminal is attached to serial port, has the same serial port settings and it is ready to accept a download".
I have all connections done and the terminal is on ( I can see the Qlarity sreen with de demo applicacion)

I show you my configuration. Please check it for any errors, I dont know what is wrong.... :?

Qlarity Foundry Preferences >> com1 // 9600 // 8N1 // none // com1
Download Application >> Serial >> com1 // 9600 // 8N1

I am sure that my pc port available is com1... but what is wrong ?
Please responde me. Thanks !


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Connect G72 to PC
PostPosted: Wed Jun 15, 2011 7:23 am 
Offline
QSI Support
QSI Support
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 12:25 pm
Posts: 881
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
You need to make sure that the unit is ready to accept a download. When it is just running an application (such as the demo) it will not accept a download. This is because the application has control of the serial port when it is running.

Go into Power On Setup and select Flash Memory->App Mode->Download. Then choose Save and Exit in Power On Setup. The G72 should then display a message indicating that it is ready for a download.

Also, while you are in Power On Setup, make sure your G72's com1 is also set to 9600, 8N1.

_________________
Jeremy
http://www.beijerinc.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Connect G72 to PC
PostPosted: Wed Jun 15, 2011 7:32 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2011 12:14 am
Posts: 28
But how can I enter into de "Power On Setup" ??
I have my terminal on and I can only see two options on the screen: "Begin Demo" and "Replay/Animation".
And a im looking the qlarity software and i can't see this point...

Sorry for my ignorance but it is the first time I used this terminal and I work with qlarity.
Please give me a hand.
Thanks a lot.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Connect G72 to PC
PostPosted: Wed Jun 15, 2011 7:37 am 
Offline
QSI Support
QSI Support
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 12:25 pm
Posts: 881
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Remove power from the unit. Press and hold the top left of the display and apply power. You will enter Power On Setup. Entering, and using Power On Setup is described in Chapter 8 of the Qlarity-Based Terminal Hardware Manual

_________________
Jeremy
http://www.beijerinc.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Connect G72 to PC
PostPosted: Wed Jun 15, 2011 7:56 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2011 12:14 am
Posts: 28
I succeded in downloading my application. Thanks !!
But a message appears on the screen... "Resize: Draw cache memory exhausted - reducing level (#2)"

What is the problem ? and what have I to do?
Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Connect G72 to PC
PostPosted: Wed Jun 15, 2011 8:08 am 
Offline
QSI Support
QSI Support
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 12:25 pm
Posts: 881
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
This is discussed here: http://www.qsiforums.com/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=421&start=0

_________________
Jeremy
http://www.beijerinc.com


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group