Beijer Electronics (formerly QSI Corporation)

Manufacturer of Mobile Data and Human Machine Interface Terminals.
It is currently Sat Nov 18, 2017 5:22 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Can't get RS-422 to work
PostPosted: Thu Oct 28, 2010 1:52 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 28, 2010 6:35 am
Posts: 22
I have an application on the G58 where it works fine in RS-232 mode but I use the start-setup to change it to RS-422 and I can no longer get it to work (connected to a different 422 device and cable of course).

I can see where my device is getting the command ok and sending a response and I can scope the response signal on the cable but my application isn't seeing it. I tried swapping the Rx+ and RX- but still no joy.

Questions:

1. Do I need to do anything else special in my application to use 422?

2. I am getting an error on startup: "SetCTS: Hardware currently in use (#144)" Is this significant?


thanks,

jv


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 28, 2010 2:06 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2006 2:12 pm
Posts: 487
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
1. There isn't anything else special you would need to do in your application. If you are changing the serial port setting at run-time you may need to reboot the terminal for it to take effect.

2. In 422 mode the hardware flow control lines are not available. That is why SetCTS is throwing an error.

Make sure that the pinout you're using matches what is documented in section 5.2.1 in the Hardware Manual.
http://www.qsicorp.com/pdf/qlarity_hardware_rev4.pdf

_________________
Ron L.

http://www.beijerelectronicsinc.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 03, 2010 2:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 28, 2010 6:35 am
Posts: 22
I still can't get it to work. there definitely is no additional setup to get receive to work?

on a similar not, I can't find where I can change the port mode (232, 422, etc) in the programmer's pdf. is this only changed on the terminal setup screen and not in my program?

thanks,

jv


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 03, 2010 2:22 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2006 2:12 pm
Posts: 487
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Can you verify the model number of your G56?

Assuming the G56 has the multi-port option, you can change it in "Power On Setup" or in the code using the function SetSystemSettings (see "Help->Object Documentation" or F1 for documentation). The code would look like this:

Code:
SetSystemSetting(SYS_COM1MULTIPROTOCOL, SERIALPROT_EIA422, SYSACT_ALWAYS)
SetSystemSetting(SYS_SAVE, true, SYSACT_DONOW) 'Save and reboot (required)


If you cannot get the 422 to work, you are welcome to return the unit for testing and possible repair. Here is the form to fill out for that.
http://www.qsicorp.com/support/contact/rma_request.php

_________________
Ron L.

http://www.beijerelectronicsinc.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Nov 04, 2010 7:13 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 28, 2010 6:35 am
Posts: 22
I have a G58 with a battery. G58B?

I should have a 422 port? Does your code snippet still apply to the G58?

jv


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Nov 04, 2010 8:02 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2006 2:12 pm
Posts: 487
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Yes, the code works on a G58 also.

_________________
Ron L.

http://www.beijerelectronicsinc.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 12, 2010 9:35 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 28, 2010 6:35 am
Posts: 22
I still haven't got this to work.

Does the terminal have any settings or assumptions on duplex? Typically 422 is full duplex and that is how I have my cable. My protocol is half-duplex and I could try 485 but then the hardware DOES have to control the transmit. Does it also suppress the receive reflection?

My protocol is command/response and includes a 1 mS turn-around delay before a response is sent.

Do you have any suggestions for debugging? RS-232 mode works fine so my terminal software is "correct" unless I need to enable/disable or do something special for 422 (besides enabling the mode). I have scoped the signal as far as the hirose connector so I know it is going into the terminal. I also tried swapping the +/- on the receive line but that didn't help.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 12, 2010 9:41 am 
Offline
QSI Support
QSI Support
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 12:25 pm
Posts: 881
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
422 is full duplex and the terminal is aware of that and is perfectly happy to allow simultaneous transmission and receipt of data.

_________________
Jeremy
http://www.beijerinc.com


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group