Beijer Electronics (formerly QSI Corporation)

Manufacturer of Mobile Data and Human Machine Interface Terminals.
It is currently Sat Nov 18, 2017 8:51 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: ActiveSync
PostPosted: Fri Sep 01, 2006 1:53 pm 
I was attempting to ActiveSync the device via serial-usb converter and my desktop but to no avail. I changed the PC Connection settings on the device to the respective COM port as well.



I don't currently have a USB cable for this, but does the device also support ActiveSync via USB?


Top
  
 
 Post subject: RE: ActiveSync
PostPosted: Fri Sep 01, 2006 5:37 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 12:35 pm
Posts: 31
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Chris,



The TREQ device is configured such that ActiveSync should work with the USB to serial converter right out of the box, assuming that the PC and cable are setup correctly. No special TREQ configuration should be necessary (e.g. changing PC connection settings).



A few things to try:

- Install the latest version of the ActiveSync client on your PC, at least version 4.1

- Use a serial cable + NULL modem, or a NULL modem serial cable to connect the USB to serial converter to your PC. All pins must be connected (full serial port). The following pin connections are required:

1 and 6 - 4

2 - 3

3 - 2

4 - 1 and 6

5 - 5

7 - 8

8 - 7

- On the PC Connection dialog in Control Panel on the device, make sure "Allow connection with desktop computer when device is attached" is selected, and that the "Connect Using" field is set to "USB COM5". These are the default settings.

- Boot the TREQ with the USB to serial converter attached. Try disconnecting and reconnecting the NULL modem cable. The PC ActiveSync application should automatically detect the presence of the device and initiate a connection.

- I assume you are using the USB to serial converter supplied with the TREQ developers kit? If not, what is the brand and model number so we can verify that it is supported.



The TREQ does not support ActiveSync over USB, as it does not have a USB device port (only host).

_________________
Brian Crofts

QSI Corporation

801-466-8770 x431

http://www.qsicorp.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: RE: ActiveSync
PostPosted: Tue Sep 05, 2006 11:01 am 
Hmm, I followed your instructions and tried several different combinations of restarting the deskop and device but still no luck. Right now, I have COM1 on the breakout box connected to the null modem cable adapter, which is connected to a serial cable (I also tried without the null modem adapter), then to the serial-usb adapter, and then to my desktop. I booted the desktop with the USB adapter inserted. I also booted the device with the serial cable plugged in.



I assume that it does not matter which serial COM port the cable is connected to on the breakout box, correct? If not true, which port corresponds to the default 'USB COM5'?


Top
  
 
 Post subject: RE: ActiveSync
PostPosted: Tue Sep 05, 2006 11:43 am 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 12:35 pm
Posts: 31
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Chris,



I apologize, I should have started with a description of the complete connection path. It is as follows:



TREQ USB port (on front panel or break-out box) -->

USB/serial converter -->

NULL modem -->

Serial cable -->

PC COM port



The COM ports on the break-out box should not be used for ActiveSync. They are not full COM ports, as they only contain Rx, Tx, RTS, CTS, and ground.



The USB/serial converter (once inserted in the TREQ's USB host port) is the "USB COM5" port. It effectively adds another serial port to the TREQ; and it is a full serial port, which ActiveSync requires.



Please try connecting the components as outlined above, and let me know how it goes.



Thanks,

Brian

_________________
Brian Crofts

QSI Corporation

801-466-8770 x431

http://www.qsicorp.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: RE: ActiveSync
PostPosted: Thu Sep 07, 2006 8:56 am 
Brian,



I tried that as well, but the device was prompting me for driver location for an unrecognized USB device. I didn't know the path to provide.


Top
  
 
 Post subject: RE: ActiveSync
PostPosted: Thu Sep 07, 2006 3:00 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 12:35 pm
Posts: 31
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Chris,



We have seen this issue before. The USB driver cannot find the driver dll file to load either because the dll file itself, or the registry key that indicates the driver dll path is corrupted or missing.



The driver dll is: \Hard Disk\bin\ftdi_ser.dll

You should be able to just type ftdi_ser.dll because the \Hard Disk\bin is in the default system path.



The correct behavior is that Windows CE should not prompt you for a driver when you insert the USB/serial converter. The USB driver should automatically find the driver. To resolve this issue, try the following:



1. Make sure that \Hard Disk\bin\ftdi_ser.dll exists. If not, download the latest image zip file, extract, and copy the ftdi_ser.dll to \Hard Disk\bin (using a USB drive). See the OS upgrade instructions below for how and what file to download.



2. Upgrade to the latest TREQ OS image unless you are already running with the latest version. Check this by running the TREQ demo application and looking in the upper-right corner. The latest image was built on 01 June 2006. See instructions below for how to upgrade your OS image.



3. Clean the persistent registry and start with default values. Download the TREQ_CleanHiveCE.exe program from http://www.qsicorp.com/engfiles/treq.php, copy it to the TREQ, run it, and then reboot.





To upgrade to the latest image:

1. Download the latest image from:

http://www.qsicorp.com/engfiles/treq.php

The file you want (as of 07Sep06) is TREQ_WinCE_Image_v0.26_01Jun06.zip.

The username and password to download the file:

user: QSI_CE_User

pass: Upgrade+My+WinCE

2. Unzip to a USB flash drive and insert the drive in the TREQ.

You should be able to navigate to \Hard Disk2 in Windows Explorer.

3. Copy all the files from \Hard Disk2 to \Hard Disk (overwriting the existing versions).

4. Reboot: hold the power key down for 4 seconds until the unit turns off, then press again to boot

_________________
Brian Crofts

QSI Corporation

801-466-8770 x431

http://www.qsicorp.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: RE: ActiveSync
PostPosted: Fri Sep 08, 2006 10:07 am 
Brian,



I have the latest OS already, so I'm ok on that front. I followed your instructions and I'm good to go now. Thank you very much for all your help!


Top
  
 
 Post subject: Same connection problem
PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2007 3:48 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2007 4:26 am
Posts: 4
Location: Reykjavik,Iceland
I have the same problem with the DK I got.



I've tried all tricks in the book but I still get "Unidentified USB device"



Upgraded the os to 0.27 (from the USB disk provided)

Connected null-modem serial cable to COM1 on PC and USB/Serial and that one to the USB port on the BOB.

I ran the CleanHiveCE.exe on the TREQ and rebooted



The TREQ I have is model # 001 serial 626N00128W725, the USB/Serial adapter is Keyspan



Any help would be greatly appreciated


Last edited by arnigeir on Wed Apr 11, 2007 8:28 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2007 8:28 am 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 12:35 pm
Posts: 31
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
arnigier,



The Keyspan USB-to-serial device is not supported by the TREQ terminal.



Only devices that are based on the FTDI232 chipset are supported (see http://www.ftdichip.com/FTProducts.htm).



QSI ships the following device with the TREQ developers kit:

http://www.usbgear.com/USBG-232MINI.html

This device contains the FTDI FT232BL USB UART IC.



If you can find Windows CE drivers for the Keyspan device, built for the x86 processor, we may be able to add support for your USB-to-serial converter.



Brian

_________________
Brian Crofts

QSI Corporation

801-466-8770 x431

http://www.qsicorp.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Thanks
PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2007 8:35 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2007 4:26 am
Posts: 4
Location: Reykjavik,Iceland
Brian,

thanks for the reply. We got this DK sent in from the UK office. I'll talk to the guys over there for the proper USB device as I'm not sure if I can locate the proper unit here in Iceland.



Thanks,

Arni.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2007 5:04 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2007 4:26 am
Posts: 4
Location: Reykjavik,Iceland
I got a new DK with newer SDK version (1.02) and new BoB from which I've been using so far. I switched the USB ActiveSync cable to the new one (from the older DK) and it failed to establish a connection with my PC. After digging a bit it seems that the 'USB COM5' connection setup is different from the old DK one ie there is no device listed in the 'Select a device' dropdown list in the proviced 'USB COM5' configuration/properties. If I dbl click on the connection I get the error "Error from RasDial". I guess it is because there is no device select (nor listed) in the connection configuration.



The obvious difference between the DK's apart from SDK version is the BoB. The older one has IO ports labelled COM1..COM4, USB and Ethernet but the new one has USB,Ethernet,J1708/J1939,232/422/485 and a EIA-232 port. And the terminal block has fewer connectors.



So the question is how to I set up the USB port for the new BoB and DK to get the ActiveSync working ?





Regards

Arni


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2007 7:46 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2006 2:12 pm
Posts: 487
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Depending on the the Model of Treq you have, it may or may not have USB through the BoB. For example the Treq-105 does have USB through the BoB. The Treq-103 does not.



Does ActiveSync work using the USB ports directly on the Treq?

_________________
Ron L.

http://www.beijerelectronicsinc.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2007 7:53 am 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 12:35 pm
Posts: 31
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Arni,



With the new development kit and latest software, the ActiveSync connection has been disabled by default. To enable, launch the PC Connection applet in the Control Panel, and check the box that says "Allow connection with desktop computer when device is attached". Then try disconnecting and reconnecting your serial cable.



Brian

_________________
Brian Crofts

QSI Corporation

801-466-8770 x431

http://www.qsicorp.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2007 2:14 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2007 4:26 am
Posts: 4
Location: Reykjavik,Iceland
Thanks guys,

the USB on the BoB does not work but the one on the device do. And yes the new one is Model 103 and the old one 001)



I changed ports, ran the CleanHive utility, enabled the connection and now it works :-)



Is there any documentation on the different models of the Treq and Bob?



Regards

Arnie.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2007 7:26 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2006 2:12 pm
Posts: 487
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
http://www.qsicorp.com/engfiles/treq/TR ... ut_J&G.pdf

_________________
Ron L.

http://www.beijerelectronicsinc.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group