Beijer Electronics (formerly QSI Corporation)

Manufacturer of Mobile Data and Human Machine Interface Terminals.
It is currently Sun Nov 19, 2017 5:35 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: QTerm-J10 with PC?
PostPosted: Tue Aug 23, 2011 2:55 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2011 2:38 pm
Posts: 2
I have inherited a variety of QTerm-J10's and am curious as to whether I can use them with a PC easily, and how to power them. The J001 looks the most interesting, and there is also a J008 and a J137. I do not know how to determine if these are RS232C or 422, and am not sure how to power them. I see the reference to pin 9 on the DB9 being used for power, but am not clear about an appropriate source, grounding, etc.

Is there a good place to get more information about the different models and technical information?

Thanks for any help and/or redirection.

Monte


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: QTerm-J10 with PC?
PostPosted: Tue Aug 23, 2011 3:15 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2006 2:12 pm
Posts: 487
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
The pin-outs are documented in section 1.2 in the User Manual here.
http://www.beijerelectronicsinc.com/dow ... usermanual

Those units should all be RS232, but they are fairly old units, so I don't guarantee one of them is not RS422.

_________________
Ron L.

http://www.beijerelectronicsinc.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: QTerm-J10 with PC?
PostPosted: Tue Aug 23, 2011 3:36 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2011 2:38 pm
Posts: 2
Thanks for the quick response Ron.

If I read it right the EIA-232 versions also (like the 422) cannot be connected directly to the PC in the sense that the PC is not the source of the power (even though the table shows mapping pin 5 (power) on the RJ12 to pin 9 on the DB9 (Ring Indicator). This would be a problem I think.

The cable between the QTerm-J10 and the PC must also have pins 5 and 6 connected to a power source. It mentions a SELV power source, but I'm not sure what I'm looking for. Will any 5V wall-wart work here? And connecting the ground from the wall-wart to the same ground being used for EIA-232 signalling circuits is normal?

Are these usually implemented with a DB9-DB9 (or 25) "Y" cable with the other arm of the Y going to the power supply?

Monte


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: QTerm-J10 with PC?
PostPosted: Tue Aug 23, 2011 3:47 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2006 2:12 pm
Posts: 487
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Yes, 5V DC should work for those models.

_________________
Ron L.

http://www.beijerelectronicsinc.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: QTerm-J10 with PC?
PostPosted: Tue Aug 23, 2011 3:49 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2006 2:12 pm
Posts: 487
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
The DB9 pinout is documented on page 14 in the J10 User Manual. Power goes to pin 9 and ground to pin 5.

_________________
Ron L.

http://www.beijerelectronicsinc.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group