Beijer Electronics (formerly QSI Corporation)

Manufacturer of Mobile Data and Human Machine Interface Terminals.
It is currently Fri Nov 24, 2017 12:19 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:25 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2010 10:40 am
Posts: 15
Hello,

I develop the application for G55 terminal. The end user got a problem: when the screensaver (I use ScreenSaverV2 object) starts, it then disables the back light. But when the application should return back from screen saver mode, it doesn't return the back light, and the display stays dark.

Is that a problem with my application, or that is a general issue of the object?

The settings of the ScreenSaverV2 object are all set to default values:
dimScreen_time = 10
launchScreenSaver_time = 20
BacklightOff_time = 20
RestoreBacklightForScreensaver = True

Regards,

Alexey.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 15, 2010 10:23 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2006 2:12 pm
Posts: 487
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
It's possible that while the screensaver was running the application locked up. Here are some FAQ's that have some information that may help:
viewtopic.php?f=4&t=164
viewtopic.php?f=4&t=422

_________________
Ron L.

http://www.beijerelectronicsinc.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 15, 2010 3:30 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2010 10:40 am
Posts: 15
Hi,

Thanks for very usefull information! But unfortunately, it doesn't help with my problem. I am pretty sure the application is not locked up as it continues to process data and display changes (it is seen on the display, very difficult, but still possible to see the changes), but the display has back light not returning back.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 15, 2010 3:43 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2006 2:12 pm
Posts: 487
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Do you only see this problem on this one particular G55? If so, maybe it's a hardware issue. Below I'll advise with things we can look at in the software.

We've heard a report of this type of behavior before, but we've never been able to reproduce it. When the unit is in this state I would be interested to know what state the ScreenSaverV2 object is in. Maybe you could add a label that is always displayed showing the screensaver state for a test. So you would need a LabelV2 in Globals and a TimerV2 to update the label in globals. The code will look like this in the Timer.

Code:
func timeout()
    if screensaver.CurState == _SS_BacklightOff then
        label_1.value = "backlight off"
    elseif screensaver.CurState == _SS_Dimmed then
        label_1.value = "dimmed"
    elseif screensaver.CurState == _SS_Normal then
        label_1.value = "normal"
    elseif screensaver.CurState == _SS_ScreenSaver then
        label_1.value = "screen saver"
    endif
endfunc


This is a good test, assuming you can read the label on the display when it's in this backlight off state. Another good test would be to see what the value of the Backlight is at

Code:
func timeout()
    dim bl as integer

    if screensaver.CurState == _SS_BacklightOff then
        label_1.value = "backlight off"
    elseif screensaver.CurState == _SS_Dimmed then
        label_1.value = "dimmed"
    elseif screensaver.CurState == _SS_Normal then
        label_1.value = "normal"
    elseif screensaver.CurState == _SS_ScreenSaver then
        label_1.value = "screen saver"
    endif

    'backlight 0-255, 255 is the brightest
    GetSystemSetting(SYS_BACKLIGHT, bl, SYSREAD_CURRENT)
    label_1.value = label_1.value + " " + Str(bl)
endfunc

_________________
Ron L.

http://www.beijerelectronicsinc.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 15, 2010 4:17 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2010 10:40 am
Posts: 15
Hi Ron,

That issue was seen not at one particular unit, unfortunately. Most likely, I will be able to reproduce it at my test pad.

So, you need to get the CurState and the value of BackLight. Will do that tomorrow. Actually, I think it will be easier to use the WebServer object for that purpose (my application responds to HTTP requests in that state). So, I'll just add not the timer, but a response to HTTP request, and the application will be returning that information any time I need that.

Will let you know the results of that investigation tomorrow.

Regards,

Alexey.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group