Beijer Electronics (formerly QSI Corporation)

Manufacturer of Mobile Data and Human Machine Interface Terminals.
It is currently Sun Nov 19, 2017 6:58 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours

Post subject: MAx rate Warning Message
PostPosted: Fri Apr 02, 2010 12:15 am 

Hello, im still new with Qlarity software and, i have a prob with the warning message: "Warning - Terminal may generate excessive queries per second for MIPS 92Mhz processor. Current estimated max rate is 544.00 updates per second. The recommended max rate for MIPS is 24 updates per second."

what should i do? thanks

PostPosted: Mon Apr 05, 2010 10:57 am 

This is a warning to let you know that you may have set your "updateperiod" properties to un-realistic times or that you just have to many objects on the screen at once. Your application will still work with this warning, but you may want to make some changes to make sure that your not seeing high latency in the data points your polling.

1. Make sure you don't have update periods set to numbers that will likely never be attainable such as 40ms. No need to poll this fast as you probably can't follow changes with your eyes faster than 240ms let alone 40ms.
2. Make sure you have the objects spread out into different screens. You'll want to check each screens enabled property to make sure you don't have more than one screen enabled at the same time.

That is just a warning so if your having good performance don't worry about it too much, but if you can get your application queries closer to 50-70 / second, that might be more reasonable performance to expect from a QTERM-G70 for example.

The 92Mhz is an older model unit and you likely don't have one of those, but if you did 24 updates per second would be a good target.

Some other performance tips:
3. Use the _ShowScreen function to change screens. Make sure all of the screens "enabled" properties are set to false in "Layout View" except one.