Beijer Electronics (formerly QSI Corporation)

Manufacturer of Mobile Data and Human Machine Interface Terminals.
It is currently Sun Nov 19, 2017 3:29 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: QTERM-G75
PostPosted: Wed Mar 17, 2010 11:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2009 10:59 pm
Posts: 19
Location: Mumbai, India.
Dear sir,
I have written an application in Qlarity Foundry 2.50, intended to run on QTERM-G75. My application involves FTP transfer (only once) and communication on RS485(COM1) and RS422(COM2) COM ports.

Till yesterday, I was running the application on a QTERM-G75 with following specifications:
FW Version: 2.500
BFF Version: 1.023
(Minimum): 1.013
CPU: Toshiba TMPR3912
Freq: 92 MHz
HW Version: 18
RAM Size: 16 MB
Flash Size: 4 MB
FFS Size: 3328 kB


Today, I switched to the QTERM-G75 with following specification:
FW Version: 2.500
BFF Version: 1.023
(Minimum): 1.013
CPU: Intel PXA255
Freq: 398 MHz
HW Version: 1
RAM Size: 32 MB
Flash Size: 8 MB
FFS Size: 7360 kB


My observations are as follows:
1. When data is being communicated on COM1, HMI does not respond at all. It hangs.
2. However, when I run the same application on QTERM-G75 with Toshiba CPU, it runs perfectly.

I am not able to figure out what I shall do in order to run the application on G75 with the Intel CPU. Also, I would like to know what differences are there inside the two versions of QTERM-G75.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: QTERM-G75
PostPosted: Fri Mar 19, 2010 2:16 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2006 2:12 pm
Posts: 487
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
The newer QTERM-G75 has an x-scale processor which is much faster. Most of the time, downloading your application to the new unit is a transparent process with everything working the same, but in some instances the application code could have timing issues that don't show up until you get a faster processor. In these situations there's always been an application level fix by changing the Qlarity workspace code.

Could you e-mail me a copy of your application and I'll try to see if this might be the problem? I'll send you an e-mail with my contact information.

The other option could be that the serial port hardware itself isn't working. We test this before we ship the unit, so that is unlikely.

_________________
Ron L.

http://www.beijerelectronicsinc.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: QTERM-G75
PostPosted: Wed Mar 24, 2010 3:39 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2009 10:59 pm
Posts: 19
Location: Mumbai, India.
Hi Ron,
Everything is working fine. Actually I forgot to do an one-time configuration setting in my application. I save this setting in the flash of the QTERM HMI. After bringing in the new touchscreen I directly start running my application. Thats why the stated problem was observed.
The problem was because of my mistake and not the hardware. Actually now the application's response has improved tremendously on the new touchscreen with Intel processor. Working perfectly as expected.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: QTERM-G75
PostPosted: Wed Mar 24, 2010 9:23 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2006 2:12 pm
Posts: 487
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Great! Thanks for the update.

_________________
Ron L.

http://www.beijerelectronicsinc.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group